Tori is a Headbanger’

Hey, happy Tuesday!

Time for another story…or I guess an overview of more of a precise genre of music that was played throughout the whole of my childhood, and will continue to be for the foreseeable future.

Ladies and Gentlemen, that genre is Punk.

Firstly, you’re probably asking yourself if punk is a suitable genre for a child to be brought up on. The answer is no, but my parents did it anyway. As I was so young I didn’t understand why the Ramones were talking about sniffing glue (or what glue sniffing ACTUALLY was) or why the Sex Pistols had so much beef with our Queen, but nevertheless I loved it. I took more interest into how fast the songs were, and how upbeat they sounded, singing along not caring that the Sex Pistols ‘Pretty Vacant’ was also created so they could say ‘c*nt’ on live TV and I was in fact saying that word. As I grew older I respected what John Lydon, Sid Vicious etc tried to do, which was to bring attention to the failing Government, and how dysfunctional society was becoming during the 70’s, as the media kept trying to pull the wool over everyone’s eyes, yet it was the creative ones, such as the Sex Pistols, who saw through that.

The Ramones…I have nothing but love, praise and admiration for them. They are a band who have been a constant throughout every year, they are always played at some point, always mentioned in a conversation. The love comes from my Dad, who has pretty much every album they made, including anthology, and their documentary ‘Too Tough To Die’. In middle school I was the only one with a Ramones t-shirt, and remember singing the chorus to ‘You’re Gonna Kill That Girl’ in the middle of the playground. I even had a couple of their songs played at Prom, which I was pretty proud of. One day I hope to see Marky Ramone’s Blitzkrieg live, and hear those precious songs played by an actual Ramone. That would mean everything. My favourite album has to be Rocket To Russia, starting with Cretin Hop it just maintains that pure, raw punk the Ramones were known for, before they got signed by Phil Spector and he changed their style almost completely for most of End of The Century, using his infamous ‘Wall of Sound’ in songs such as their cover of ‘Baby, I Love You’.

(When retail shops brought out t-shirts, jumpers, any item they could find, with the Ramones (and various other bands) logo on them, I honestly got very angry. The people buying them and wearing them didn’t know who these icons of punk were! Their logo was even printed on flower print crop tops! I found it quite insulting, and disgraceful that these places were using a band so treasured in the music industry just to bring in extra money. Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked…)

Punk is a genre, with its simple 4/4 timing, fast tempo and distorted guitars, which will always be close to my heart. It’s a genre that you are able to play when you are feeling happy, and energetic, or sad and angry. It’s a genre which, hopefully, will never die out.

Vicki x

Leave a Reply

