Hello world!

This is your very first post. 

Happy blogging!

Why thank you, well seeing as this is my first post I guess I’d better introduce myself a little…

Hi I’m Vicki, Victoria, whichever you prefer- I wont correct you I’m not fussy- and I’m using this place to write any random things I have to say about music. Music is something that is a very huge part of who I am, so huge in fact that I have to listen to at least 3 songs when I wake up in the morning, otherwise I’m not mentally prepared to deal with anyone.

I was brought up surrounded by music, as my parents were bikers who went to see bands all through the 70’s and 80’s, from the Ramones to Motorhead, Hawkwind to Cradle of Filth, they saw pretty much everyone who bands today now cite as their influences. Their regular haunt was West Runton Pavilion, where they saw Iron Maiden (before Bruce Dickinson), Blue Oyster Cult and The Damned, before the venue was sadly demolished in 1986.

The first album I remember actually putting on and playing (I must have been about 6 or 7?) was Guns N Roses ‘The Spaghetti Incident’. I loved that album, and Mum always used to tell me about the time she travelled all the way up to Milton Keynes to see Guns N Roses, something Dad still gets jealous about today. She said that she rang him up to tell him about the gig and he just said ‘Who’s this?’. I also remember Appetite for Destruction being played a lot, and now I realise how that was bad parenting, considering the last song is Rocket Queen, where Axl Rose included a recording of himself having sex with a hooker in with the solo. I guess its good I can’t remember that…maybe they go to the stereo in time to turn it off?

I have so many more stories about music, from the first album I bought, how my tastes have changed, when I first got into the main bands I listen to, and of course about the may gigs I have been to. They will all be told here, and I may even include album reviews and gig reviews just to mix it up a little.

Vicki x

Leave a Reply

